“Notre Dame today works to cultivate a high sense of spiritual, moral, and social values among the students. Notre Dame continues to adapt, to innovate, to improve methods, curriculum, and thrust of subject matter—providing ever new opportunities to help modern youth become responsible and effective members of a society revitalized in Christ.”

                                                                                                                         …excerpt from the 1970 Shield

The Class of 1970 50th Reunion has been rescheduled for
Commencement Weekend next year — May 21-23, 2021!

Class of 1970 — 50th Reunion

Image of class of 1970

May 21-23, 2021 for a fun and memorable 50th Reunion!

Dear Members of the Class of 1970,

I was getting acquainted with your class recently by looking through your yearbook and I came across these words that still resonate with Notre Dame in 2019. Simply put, we continue to adapt and innovate, improve our curriculum and teaching methods for 21st-century learners, and inspire our students to be responsible citizens grounded in Christian values. Yes, the ND legacy and Holy Cross mission continue to thrive!

I also saw many snapshots of the life and personality of your class…the extraordinary Spring Festival, outstanding athletic teams, numerous clubs, prom, and, of course, academic achievement. I wondered who it might have been that inspired you some 50 years ago. Was it a Brother, a teacher, a coach? A classmate or teammate? While the answer may be different for each of you, I imagine those formative years “on the hill” helped shape the great Notre Dame Men that you are today.

Since I arrived at Notre Dame nearly five years ago, I have been so impressed by the dedication and loyalty of our alumni for their alma mater. I often hear about the lifelong friendships and many “legendary” stories that I am sure get better each time they are told!


50th Reunion Invitations with all of the details will be mailed by April 1, 2021.

Support the Class of 1970 Reunion Gift Today

The 50th Reunion Committee has established the Class of 1970 Scholarship. This scholarship will provide much-needed financial support for today’s Notre Dame students. 

Gifts of all sizes are welcome. Pledges of $1,000 or more may be paid over four years.  We hope that classmates will make multi-year commitments to the fund so that students will begin to receive significant support from the Class of 1970 Scholarship.

Please contact the Development Office at Notre Dame for more details at 203.937.3214 or kwielk@notredamehs.com for additional information. 

 Reunion Committee

Louis Buccino
(813) 390-5777 (H)
(813) 604-3688 (C)

John Byrne
(860) 304-1950 (H)

William Dest
(860) 669-0612 (H)
(203) 631-0377 (C) 

John Fanotto
(203) 881-9912 (H)
(203) 305-6231 (C)

Jack Flaherty
(203) 254-2813 (H)
(203) 895-6969 (C)

Kevin Hunt
(941) 321-1246 (H)

Bill Stewart
203-488-7114 (H)

Darryl Zebrowski
(203) 933-0079 (H)

Click a committee member's name above to email directly. 

Lost Classmates
Please contact the school or one of the committee members if you have contact information for any of your “lost” classmates.

Nicholas A. Bagnasco
George F. Bradley
Brian A. Callahan
John P. Clohessy
Daniel F. Coyle
Dominic R. De Lucia
Russell V. Farrell
Robert Garvie
Victor J. Glasso
Richard Hassan
Joseph Henn
Robert Hughes
John F. Kerrigan
Alphonse Liguori
Mark D. Majusky
Timothy J. Moran
Mark C. Mullally
Stephen J. Scopino
Henry J. Smidowicz

Deceased Classmates
In Honored Memory

Frederick Abel
Lawrence J. Anderson
Richard M. Berry
Kenneth F. Block, Jr.
John D. Byrn
Pasquale D. Caprio
William K. Carey
Rene A. Champagne
Paul A. Chelstowski
Charles A. Durnin
Gerard F. Esposito
Michael H. Fadden
Gregory M. Fitzgerald
Ralph P. Grillo
Stephen C. Hammond
James J. Hughes
John J. Ierardi
John S. Karlak
David P. Kerwin
Thaddeus J. Kostka
Robert C. Lecza
Orrin A. McFarland
Eugene J. Mezeiski, Jr.
James F. Murphy
Thomas  O'Connor, Jr.
Kerry R. O'Toole
Ulderico  Ricci
Kevin R. Sabo
James  Sands
Carl W. Schumacher
Robert  Setaro
Peter A. Sticco
Myron J. Teluk
Edward T. Zukowski
Lawrence J. Zulkowski