Seniors—Class of 2019

Banner for senior Web page

Graduation Class of 2019

Congratulations to the Class of 2019!

One-hundred twenty seven members of the Notre Dame West Haven Class of 2019 received diplomas at the school’s Commencement Exercises in Alumni Hall on June 2, 2019.

The Commencement began with the singing of the national anthem by Alex Barbour ‘20, Harrison Buck ‘21, and Garth Ragsdale ‘21. After the Invocation by Vijay DaCosta, Co-Chair of Religious Studies, Nicholas Vollero ‘19 of West Haven addressed his classmates with the Senior Speech.

The Class of 2019 then received their diplomas, handed to them by President Robert F. Curis. Following the distribution of diplomas, the two highest awards were announced by Mr. Adam Laput ‘89, Social Studies Faculty.

Commencement Speaker Nicholas Vollero '19

Graduation Liturgy Speaker Daniel Range '19

Graduation Liturgy Speaker Cornelius Huang '19

The Class of 2019 Code Award Winner is Colton Varholak ‘19 of Orange (Stonehill College). The Man of the Year for the Class of 2019 is Christian Gee ‘19 of Hamden (University of Connecticut). 

The statistics are impressive for the 127 members of the graduating class of 2019. The Class of 2019 received over $18.4 million in scholarships and grants. Ninety-three percent of 2019 parents who participated in the College Acceptance Data Survey shared that their son was accepted to their first or second choice college/university.

Twenty members of the Class of 2019 have fathers and/or grandfathers who are alumni. They proudly joined ‘legacy-society graduates’ club by receiving their diploma this year.

Mr. Salvatore Esposito ‘14, former Code Award recipient, officially inducted the Class of 2019 into the Alumni Association as part of the Graduation Ceremony.

In addition to the 2019 Commencement Exercises, Notre Dame celebrated the Class of 1969’s 50th Reunion. Members of the reunion class wore special golden medallions to commemorate this anniversary and received golden diplomas. President Curis honored the members before a luncheon ceremony.

Congratulations and best wishes to the Notre Dame of West Haven Class of 2019!

Congratulations goes to...

ND Valedictorian of the Class of 2019: Brian LoCicero
ND Salutatorian Award: Robert Damjanovich

Department Awards

Business and Technology

  • The Junior Business Book Award: Sean Kiernan
  • The ND Computer Medal: Brandon Atkins         
  • The Business Medal: Matthew Callahan

Campus Ministry

  • The Brother Gonzaga Service award: Nicholas Gerwien, Michael Modine, Nicholas Vollero
  • The Father Thomas Goekler ’59 Social Justice and Peace Award: Jake Miller
  • The ND Campus Ministry Medal: Aidan Shea


  • The Freshman Level 2 English: Luke Beerli
  • The Freshman Award for Outstanding Performance in Moreau English Program: Nicholas Ribeiro 
  • The Sophomore English Award: Maverick Melchiore              
  • The University of Notre Dame sophomore Book Award: Justin Pollio
  • The Junior English Award: Christian Panagrossi
  • The John Schread American Literature Award: Amit Chandra   
  • The English Composition Medal: Matthew Donovan
  • The Notre Dame High School English Medal: Vincent Lacobelle

Fine Arts

  • The Freshman Art Award: Gabriel Bravo-Cancino
  • The Notre Dame High School Art Medal: Patrick Walsh       
  • The Freshman Music Award: Brendan Barnett             
  • The Notre Dame High School Drama Medal: Ronald Thomas
  • The Notre Dame High School Technical Theater Medal: Alexander Orozco
  • The Music Medal for Chorus: William Fryer 
  • The Music Medal for Band: Jonathan Katz                       
  • The John Philip Sousa Award: Colton Varholak                      
  • The Louis Armstrong Jazz Award: Christopher Bradley

Foreign Language (ITALIAN)

  • The Italian I Award: Christian Bruno  
  • The King’s College Italian II Book Award: Bryce Vitale           
  • The Columbus Day Committee Scholarship for excellence in Italian III: Alexander Barbour
  • The Italian IV Award: Lucas Ardito                        
  • The Notre Dame High School Italian Medal: Colby Cusano

Foreign Language (LATIN)

  • The Latin I: John Gidez              
  • The Latin II Award: Jacob Fleischer                          
  • The Br. Theodore Oliveira, CSC Award for excellence in Latin III: Benjamin Nuttall                   
  • The Notre Dame High School Latin Medal: Thomas Gavaletz

Foreign Language (SPANISH)

  • The Spanish I Award: Dylan Ekstrand                   
  • The Spanish II Award: Matthew Reyes                         
  • The St. Edward’s University Spanish III Book Award: Jordan House
  • The Language Dept Award for excellence in Spanish IV: Robert Damjanovich        
  • The Notre Dame High School Spanish Medal: Brian LoCicero


  • The Notre Dame High Score Medal: Hyunwoo Kwak  
  • The Freshman Mathematics Award: Nicholas Ribeiro
  • The Sophomore Mathematics Award: Evan Quesada
  • The Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Award: Jason Do         
  • The Holy Cross College of Indiana Book Award: Kapish Joshi
  • The Notre Dame Mathematics Medal: Neel Agir                


  • The Freshman Religion Award: Ryan LaPolt  
  • The Fr. Jacques Dujarie Sophomore Religion Award: Peter Cestaro
  • The Blessed Basil Moreau Junior Religion Award: Junguang Long  
  • The Notre Dame High School St. Brother Andre Bessette Religious Studies Medal: Steven Ayala                   


  • The Freshman Science Award: Mark MacDaniel
  • The University of Portland Book Award: Alexander Ozonoff   
  • The University of Rochester Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award: Ethan Wicko                           
  • The Notre Dame High School Science Medal: Zheng Huang

Social Studies

  • The Freshman Social Studies Award: Justin Coppola
  • The General David Humphreys Branch of the Sons of the American Revolution Award: Tucker Sutherland
  • The Edward T. Kavanagh ’58 Memorial Book Award: Matthew Brooks
  • The NDHS Social Studies Medal: Anthony Bruno                   

Community Awards

Each year we are given several book awards, certificates, and scholarships to present to deserving students at Notre Dame High School. These awards are presented to students who, in the opinion of the Administration and Faculty, have achieved academic excellence and have demonstrated a seriousness of purpose in study and school citizenship.
  • The National Association of Secondary School Principals: Christian Bruno, Donald Coletta, Nicholas Ribeiro, Jacob Doyle
  • President’s Award for Educational Achievement: Matthew Pycela
  • Michael’s Jewelers of New Haven: Anthony Bruno, Jonathan Katz
  • West Haven Rotary Club Service Above Self Award: Nicholas Vollero
  • The Bishop Peter A. Rosazza Community Service Award: Benjamin Nugent
  • The Connecticut Association of Schools: Christopher Bradley, William Fryer
  • The Southern Connecticut Conference Scholar-Leaders: Christian Gee, Colton Varholak
  • Governor’s Scholar Program: Michael Consorte
  • National Merit Scholarship Program: Neil Agir
  • Saint Anselm College Book Award: Gabriel Quinn
  • Clarkson University Achievement Award: Seann Maribbay
  • Stonehill Book Award: Brian Romaniello
  • George Washington University Book Award: Oliver Shannon
  • St. Michael’s College Award: Jake Miller
  • The Gettysburg College Book Award: Benjamin Nuttall
  • The University of Rochester: George Eastman
  • Young Leaders Award: Brendan Canning
  • The Trinity College Book Award: Amit Chandra    
  • The Cornell Book Award: Jordan House
  • The Harvard University Club of Southern Connecticut Book Award: Matthew Consorte
  • The Yale Club Book Award: Michael Consorte
Click here for a description of each award.